The delight on God’s face

Num 6

I love the way how with very young children their feelings are obvious in their face,  If you see them catch a glimpse of Mum or Dad, or Grandma or Grandad or another significant adult their faces are transformed, they beam with delight, they shine with love.  That is how I tried to describe what it might have been like seeing Moses come down from the mountain having spent time with God or Jesus at the transfiguration, shining faces reflecting God’s love.  I (Sally) preached today on these passages and made the connection with what is known as the Aaronic blessing from Numbers 6:

The Lord bless you and keep you, the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you and give you peace.

My childhood impressions of God were not always of a God who beamed with delight and love at his precious child.  I sometimes got the idea that God would be scowling at me, particularly if I had been naughty!  It has taken quite a few years to accept that God looks upon me with love, with delight, with joy, that the look I see in little children is how God looks at me.  When people come up for a blessing at communion these are the words I use.  If I am aware of nothing else to pray for people these are words I can pray with confidence knowing that whatever the situation God’s blessing, grace and peace can speak into it.

Most times I preach I come back to this core message, that God loves you, and each time at least one person comes and talks to me about it.  We are blessed with a lovely group of young children at church so I often get to see shining faces and each time it reminds me that God delights in me too.

Leave a Reply

