Wondering Wednesdays: I want to keep my soul fertile – lifelong learning Donald Miller style

Image

I want to keep my soul fertile for the changes, so things keep getting born in me, so things keep dying when it is time for things to die. I want to keep walking away from the person I was a moment ago, because a mind was made to figure things out, not to read the same page recurrently.

Although I am completely committed to the concept, the term lifelong learning has always sounded a little dull.  It is the sort of term the teacher in me would like but one which may not always capture the imagination of those I work with.  That is why I like this quotation from Donald Miller’s book  Through Painted Deserts which is subtitled “Light, God and beauty on the open road”.

Concepts of birth and death resonate as I both reflect on the Christian year and the pattern of the seasons.   I know as I accumulate years that I am mindful not to stagnate but to keep on changing to allow more of the Sally God created to shine through.  The journey to find Donald Miller started while live tweeting at a conference and interacting with another delegate (@tallandrew).  Twitter can be fertile ground for my soul as I encounter links to blogs, articles, read quotations or thoughts or just share the ups and downs of everyday life with people I know or just follow.   Twitter can also be the equivalent of white bread to me – the easy option when I should be more focused on something which I am finding hard work – perseverance is vital if there is to be growth in some areas of my life.  I need to make time to figure things out and that means giving myself a bit of space like the long bath I had with  this book!  Our brains and our souls need nurturing spaces – what I might call a shelter.

I now have a new question to ask myself – what can I do today to keep my soul fertile?

51EDgH5JNML._AA160_

Reference:  Donald Miller Through Painted Deserts Nashville: Thomas Nelson 2005 px.

Leave a Reply

