Messy beauty

Hedgerow

One of my favourite  childhood memories is walking down country lanes looking at wildflowers with my Grandma.  The hedgerows that we used to walk along are long gone as is my Grandma but she shared her knowledge and passion with me and a bit of her now lives on in me.  I live less than a mile away from Spaghetti Junction in Birmingham so hedgerows are not part of my regular walks from home but this week I have been staying in a village for a study week. Late in the afternoon we have been going for a walk and again I have been struck by the beauty of hedgerows.  But hedgerows are not neat and orderly, they are not well manicured, they are messy but they have an amazing beauty.  This week hedgerows containing primroses, bluebells and violets with a few dead leaves, twigs, and bits of grass boundaried the footpath.

A lot of time I live with such messiness.  When I look at my life there are lots of almost competing elements, some bits struggling to grow, things that have died and need to be cleared up, things that are growing, in blossom or just waiting to flower not to mention the ever lurking ivy with its potential to choke the growth of other plants.  When I looked at the hedgerow and took this picture I almost missed the fragile little violet. I need to regularly reflect on my life and take notice of what the violets might be, what I might be missing unless I look closely. Sometimes it might be a person, other times a task, a post on a social networking site I need to respond to, or it could even be that I just need to spend some time just looking. I love playing with metaphors and they help me to reflect on and understand what God is doing in my life and today messy beauty is an image I want to dwell on.

2 thoughts on “Messy beauty

    • Thanks Danny. As Paul would tell you I can get lost a bit inside my head and have to purposefully give attention to what is around me sometimes. Exploring Ignatian spirituality helping me to understand God in the everyday helped me to see how nature has so much to teach us… Hope life is going well with you and Alison, nice to see bits on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

