Wondering Wednesdays – prayer for the day

DSCF2381

O Lord, open my eyes that I may see the needs of others;

open my ears that I may hear their cries;

open my heart so that they need not be without succour;

let me not be afraid to defend the weak because of the anger of the strong,

nor to defend the poor because of the anger of the rich.

Show me where love and hope and faith are needed, and use me to bring them to those places.

And so open my eyes and my ears that I may this coming day be able to do some of the work of peace for thee.

Alan Paton (anti apartheid campaigner)

It is very easy for me to have a plan for a day fitting in lots of different things and have at least a mental map of how the day will pan out or a list of things that I get satisfaction in crossing off.  I need to be reminded by prayers like this not to get so absorbed in what I am doing that I am unaware of where else my attention and ministry may be needed.  I don’t always get this right and am sorry when I hurt people close to me who need me to mediate love, hope and faith yet my focus is elsewhere.  In this Pentecost week I am reminded again of the importance of listening to the voice of the Holy Spirit within me as she nudges or whispers and I need to just go with it knowing that if I have heard wrong but responded faithfully God will help me work it out!  What is your prayer for the day?

Leave a Reply

