Wondering Wednesdays – listening to our tears

eyeI hate crying in public – I don’t fully know why as if someone starts crying when they are with me I tell them not to worry and I know that it is good to release emotion.  So I wonder what my problem is!  I have been thinking about crying a little bit as I am preparing a sermon on Psalm 126 which talks about sowing with tears and reaping with joy.  On the mantlepiece in my bedroom is one of those tiny bottles you see in the Holy Land which relate to Psalm 56:8 which talks about putting my tears in a bottle.  It is quite reassuring to think that at times my tears have not been in vain.  Sometimes my tears are over relatively trivial frustrations but they are also over big things too and certainly any time Paul starts sharing sad stories from work then my eyes well up!  As part of my research for my sermon I came across this quotation from Frederick Buechner – it encouraged me to think about listening to my tears…

You never know what may cause them. The sight of the Atlantic Ocean can do it, or a piece of music, or a face you’ve never seen before. A pair of somebody’s old shoes can do it. Almost any movie made before the great sadness that came over the world after the Second World War, a horse cantering across a meadow, the high school basketball team running out onto the gym floor at the start of a game. You can never be sure. But of this you can be sure. Whenever you find tears in your eyes, especially unexpected tears, it is well to pay the closest attention. They are not only telling you something about the secret of who you are, but more often than not God is speaking to you through them of the mystery of where you have come from and is summoning you to where, if your soul is to be saved, you should go to next.

Next time you cry think about what you might learn from your tears.

Reference:
http://www.frederickbuechner.com/content/weekly-sermon-illustrations-tears

Leave a Reply

