Go the distance – on earth as it is in heaven

Birmingham-20130915-00021

This picture is me in a t shirt I bought at the Grand Canyon – on earth as it is in heaven. This week I want to explore the relationship between our life now and our life to come as part of my reflection on how life and ministry work best.

One of the attitudes I have about my life is that I would want to live the Christian life, even if heaven did not exist.  Don’t get me wrong, I believe heaven does exist and I am hoping to go! (I am not sure what we will all be doing though – a thought for a future blog).  My point for this reflection is that my purpose and motivation for why I live my life with the values and practices of Christianity is that it seems to me to be the best way to live as a human being. I understand that some people’s lives here on Earth are so hard, that the promised hope of a future life of justice and peace is what they need to trust in. I do not mean to z this hope and belief, I have seen and personally experienced enough to get it. For my life today, following a loving God, seeking to live out the fruit of the Spirit in my life and acting in ways which help to see God’s kingdom come here on earth are joys and purpose enough that might make my t shirt a prophetic statement not a fashion statement!

2 thoughts on “Go the distance – on earth as it is in heaven

  1. This was just right. I love the idea that God actually wants good for us here on earth. It would be strange if He waited to love us and bless us until we were in heaven, but that’s not what He does.
    Also, I checked out your about section, and wanted to thank you for the great work you both do for the kingdom.
    -Peter from the Bridge

Leave a Reply

