Honest Christianity – How is my salvation?

Birmingham-20130326-00925

I did some teaching this week on the theme of salvation. The students were particularly struck by the spectrum of our salvation, I was saved, I am being saved and I will be saved.

Together we explored how we knew we had been saved in the past (justified by the graciousness of God in Jesus), how we need to continue to be saved by becoming more Christ like, holy, the people God desires us to be (sanctified) and how we will be saved in the future when we join with God in our death or the return of Christ (glorified).

There are a myriad of ways in which these aspects of our Salvinic  relationship with God can be expressed. Our honest Christianity must enable us to reflect on how and where we are on all these facets of salvation. For example:  Where have I put my hope and energies? Where do I need to do any re-adjustment of my trust?  How do I understand receiving grace?

My own reflection is that I would help myself if I was clear in the difference and benefits of these stages of salvation and not confuse them. The need to affirm my position in Christ, focus on my lifestyle to imitate Jesus in my every day and live in the light of what I can hope for in the future.

4 thoughts on “Honest Christianity – How is my salvation?

  1. My only thought was that this still takes an individual perspective. I would wonder how our salvation is part of the ‘renewal of all things’ so how can my salvation be part of the salvation of the world, its environment, economics, politics etc bringing shalom

    • Hi Tim, I was a good tutor and explored shalom and liberation theology with them as well!! This was just one reflection from the day and explored corporate and individual sin as a part of the day. I am really interested in how spiritual reconciliation with God is a part of humanities holistic well being.

  2. Before we were married I made a cross stitch book mark for Paul which said once saved, always saved, we talked about it a lot back then – his then Minister R T Kendall published a book of the same name. Personally that’s what I believe but appreciate it’s one of the things that there are lots of perspectives on.

Leave a Reply

