Go the distance – out of the mouths of children’s story characters!

winnie_the_pooh_pooh_055_51834

Being on holiday, I am drawn this week towards a self-care blog.  This is a quote I came across and was even more excited to find it was from a children’s book.

There is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. Winnie the Pooh

 Sometimes it is important to take holiday and wind down time and reflect. I really like this quote as it encourages me to remember things that not only I might have forgotten but have never believed. As I look back at the last few weeks, I cannot delude myself that things have gone better than I think, but given how harsh most of us our on ourselves then perhaps these statements are helpful for us to take to heart.  The full quote is:

If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart I’ll always be with you.

 In our spiritual self care, we may or may not include the transcendent … But if we do, are these words we could hear from Jesus to each one of us? I hope so. Perhaps I need to remember God is with me on holiday as well as at work.

6 thoughts on “Go the distance – out of the mouths of children’s story characters!

  1. Children’s stories are by far the best! Great quote and definitly words I need to hear from Jesus. I hope that you have a lovely holiday.

  2. I still find that when I am really able to look at him in genuine stillness that it affects what I feel I am able to believe and achieve. It is a remarkable thing to me, still, that he believes in me too. His grace doesn’t just tolerate me, it enables me to do what he wants me to do. I have seen over the years that I can be like Peter both in my willingness to step out onto the waves with Jesus, and my ability to look down and sink. What have I learned? That I need him every day, but my weakness is not a barrier to him. I’m glad he reaches down when we sink and grabs our hand…

Leave a Reply

