Honest Christianity: live like how God sees me

DSCF0514

What on earth would that look and feel like?

For lent in recent years I have taken something up as well as or instead of giving something up. This year, as in a previous year, I am taking some time for prayer at the beginning of the day (Don’t tell the Bishop). One morning last week, I was sitting in our prayer room, it has a large window by one of the seats (electric recliner, well you have to be comfortable don’t you!?) and I looked out of the window. Instead of “seeing” outside, I noticed my reflection in the window (I don’t think I was being narcissistic). My day started with the reflection and connection, “How does God see me?” which led to “How might I live, think about myself, see and treat myself, if I did it through Gods eyes”?

So, how does God see you and I?  Difficult not to start by being trite. On the day, before I started to answer my reflection question, I thought I would ask God rather than just answer. So far, I am sensing an affirmation of who I am, God who believes in me, more than I believe in God.

 I look forward to further answers during the rest of lent. Hopefully it will make up for the early mornings!!

One thought on “Honest Christianity: live like how God sees me

  1. Hope your early mornings are fruitful Paul. Rather you than me! I did get up early today but that was for hospital so don’t think that counts with regards to lent!

    I think your reflection of: “How might I live, think about myself, see and treat myself, if I did it through God’s eyes”? is a really powerful one, and something it would definitly do me good to reflect on too…just not so early in the morning and sadly without an electric recliner!

    xx

Leave a Reply

