Honest Christianity – should I stay or should I go?

Aston

Today I went back to one of our previous churches, the one I served my Curacy in, Aston Parish church. It was a leaving service for their long term youth worker, for another youth
worker and church administrator.

It reminded me how reluctant I was to leave 12 years ago. I was really enjoying looking after the church in my Curacy and their interregnum. The church was a very supportive forward
looking group of loving people – lots of thoughts ran through my head in the days before and after my leaving service… Who would want to leave? Where could I be more happy or be a better fit? I must admit I could not see it at the time, and was upset to leave.

Today encouraged me to look and reflect back on how I have very similar feelings today about my current job. If someone had told me I would feel like that, I am not sure I would
have believed them. This is the second time this has happened to me, the first was when I left YFC to be ordained.

Neither time was I able to be honest about all the doubts I was feeling to those I was saying goodbye to as I was focusing on what God was calling me to and how much I had been
blessed by being a part of the place I was leaving and saying I was not sure I was doing the right thing seemed to be a lack of faith and didn’t fit with the ritual and narrative attached
to leaving. It has made me think a little bit more about how we help people transition and I think it is something I need to continue to process as leaving and starting well can be so
crucial.

3 thoughts on “Honest Christianity – should I stay or should I go?

  1. A timely – and hopeful – post. At the end of this week I am leaving a job and people that have meant more to me than I can express, and am heading tremblingly into a very different situation. I’m full of doubts and fears, even as I can see positives and new adventures. Exceedingly thankful for all the people who have been a part of the journey to this point, have helped me to where I am, and thankful for the new people I will now get to know.

Leave a Reply

