Wondering Wednesdays – living in a cage

cage

I am playing with metaphors at the moment for a paper I am writing and I was trying to compile a list of all the metaphors that have been significant to me.  One of these comes from Michael Paul Gallagher, a Jesuit priest whose writings I enjoy, he talks about culture as  “a cage that is there and not there; as in the acting of a mime artist who pretends to be inside a glass box”.

I sometimes share about how I haven’t caught up with who Sally is now and act as if I am the Sally of years ago, a less liberated Sally.  I also encounter people who feel constrained by the invisible cage that they think the church puts them in which means they feel they cannot be who they are and be part of church.  That is deeply sad.  What is perhaps sadder is when people don’t even realize that this has happened and fail to live in the freedom that is available in Christ.  Galatians 5.1 in the Message version says: Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you.

Reference:

Clashing Symbols Michael Paul Gallagher London DLT 1997 p7-8

 

Leave a Reply

