Honest Christianity – battling for peace

poppiesRemembering war, working for peace, was the sentiment of our Remembrance Service this morning at Hodge Hill Church. It held the difficult tension of honouring those who served and were wounded or killed without glorifying war. Instead it emphasised the importance of working and praying for peace. I think this is why the service worked for me and seemingly the many others there.

Although I am seeking to hold this with one of my truisms – all it takes for evil to prevail is for good people to do nothing (drawing on Edmund Burke) – I have to believe that working for peace is not nothing. I am not sure I can always see that it is more effective than violence in stopping the horrors of war, but then with virtue ethics based responses, that is not the point.

One thought on “Honest Christianity – battling for peace

Leave a Reply

