Wondering Wednesdays – remembering to be

WP_20140218_007

You should be less concerned about what you have to do and think and much more about what you must be.

For if your being is good, your work will be of great value.

(Meister Eckhart)

Every day at the moment I am reading parts of the first chapter of John’s gospel, I am reading it in the Message version – it begins thus:  The Word was first, the Word present to God, God present to the Word.  I am trying to find what is often just a tiny bit of being present to God first thing in the morning.  It helps to centre myself, focus on God and try to go out into the busyness of this time of the year with being in mind, not just doing.  I don’t always succeed but I am trying to remember to be more than do.

One thought on “Wondering Wednesdays – remembering to be

  1. Learning to ‘be’ is something God continues to challenge me about and is something and that I draw a lot of inspiration from your blogs on. I struggle with it a lot due to my M.E. I have always been good at/enjoyed doing. My identity was firmly rooted in my family and my ministry. But what happens when that is all stripped away due to illness, bereavement or any number of other things? When you aren’t able to serve God in the ways you long to? I found that I didn’t really know who I was any more; that my faith had been very much about serving God through actions rather than through my being. It has and continues to be a painful lesson but I am sure that in time will help me draw closer to God and have a much more sustainable ministry. It just doesn’t always feel that way!

Leave a Reply

