Friday photo – don’t drink the water

malvernOne of our favourite days off is walking in the Malvern Hills and I look forward to drinking cold, refreshing water at the end of the walk.  Sadly last time we walked there this sign was up:  The water from this spring has failed recent bacteriological tests and should be boiled before use.  I decided not to drink it. It worked as a metaphor for me to think about what did and didn’t bring me refreshment.  I have tried and tried but somehow gardening isn’t one of those things.  As I have grown older I have hoped I would become a passionate gardener who would restore our gardens so they looked like they did when we moved in!  Hasn’t happened.  I have realized I need to recharge and get refreshed in ways that work for me and have not managed to will myself to enjoy gardening although I envy those who do.  However, I still draw comfort from this verse:

The Lord will guide you continually, and satisfy your needs in parched places,  and make your bones strong;
and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters never fail. Is 58:11.

One thought on “Friday photo – don’t drink the water

Leave a Reply

