Wondering Wednesdays – writing to save the day

notebookHenri Nouwen writes:

Writing can be a true spiritual discipline. Writing can help us concentrate, to get in touch with the deeper stirrings of our hearts, to clarify our minds, to process confusing emotions, to reflect on our experiences, to give artistic expression to what we are living, and to store significant memories. Writing can be good for others who might read what we write. Quite often a difficult, painful or frustrating day can be ‘redeemed’ by writing about it. By writing we can claim what we have lived and thus integrate it more fully into our journeys. Then writing can become life-saving for us and sometimes for others too.

This was one of the quotations that I included in my materials for the Grove Youth Series writing day on Friday.  As an introvert I spend a lot of time processing things in my head, writing gets something out of my head and on to a page in front of me in a way which helps me see it a little more clearly.  This week I had one of those days where I needed to write and doing so was life-giving and helped externalise some of the many thoughts that crowded my mind and stopped me focusing on what it was I needed to.  What do you need to write about today?

Reference:

Henri J M Nouwen Bread for the Journey London DLT 1996:135.

Leave a Reply

