Wondering Wednesdays – invincible summer

Cornwall-20130426-01057

In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.

Albert Camus

One of the ways in which I volunteer is to create spiritual care postcards for Paul’s work at Birmingham Children’s Hospital.  This quotation is on one of those cards.  It speaks of resilience, offers a metaphor to draw on when times are difficult, the capacity to visualize and image such as this which brings inspiration and hope.  It is not always easy to have the energy to push right back when times are darkest but this quotation gives hope.  Paul works with many different people in hospital, some will have faith, others not, having images and quotations that are accessible for those of religious faith or not facilitates the offering of spiritual care to all.

4 thoughts on “Wondering Wednesdays – invincible summer

  1. Thanks Sally. I’ve reused the photo and quotation on another (closed member only) blog – I spoke about Paul’s work and quoted him on the theme of hope at a conference in Bilbao at Easter so used this as a great follow up. We’re exploring what ‘soul’ means in psychotherapy and I sensed something important in this quotation and in an all or no faith context…… and it was also a great personal encourager yesterday. Very timely!

  2. also interested in soul in therapy – am in therapy right now and we are incorporating spiritual work and pray. I love this quote… for me the ‘invincible summer’ within is Spirit and survival instinct and does not require me to push back at all when i am exhausted… it is that which pushes back against the darkness when I am unable to lift a finger or even my eyes to heaven… and this should be a blog too!

Leave a Reply

