Friday photo – paschal pelican

pelican paschal

I love it when I come upon an unexpected treasure. In Bruges there was this amazing church – St Magdalene – which I may write more about another time but it had the most beautiful paschal candle I had ever seen. I find the legend of the pelican inspiring – in order to feed her children when there is no other food a pelican would pluck its own breast and feed the children on her own blood.  For someone who faints at the sight of her own blood I am not fully sure why I am so drawn to this imagery.  It is perhaps because of the way it images what Jesus did for me – shed blood that I might live and it encourages me that there are times when self-giving sacrifice is the choice I need to make.

Leave a Reply

