Wondering Wednesdays – walking and talking

DSCF1508

This week is one of my highlights of the year – the MCYM retreat to Holy Island. A part of the transition from one academic year to the next, the point after which I begin to look forward not back. It is a time for a lot of walking and talking – we don’t do a silent retreat – there are lots of places you can go for that. I love this quotation from Julia Cameron – it says something profound:Walking and talking humanize my life, draw it to an ancient, comforting scale.  We live as we move, a step at a time, and there is something in gentle walking that reminds me of how I must live if I am to savour this life that I have been given.  Savouring this life becomes an automatic and appropriate response the minute I dispense with velocity and pressure.

Reference:
Julia Cameron. Walking in this World.  London, Rider: 2002:1.

Leave a Reply

