Wondering Wednesdays – true happiness

WP_20150209_004

“Many persons have the wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness…is not attained through self-gratification, but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.” Helen Keller

I have so many things I am grateful to God for but very close to the top of the list is that I have a strong sense of calling and purpose.  While study, teaching, writing, ordination and the like are a part of it I can find fulfillment in that sense of purpose in little everyday things too.  On Sunday I preached on the story of the feeding of the 5000 and one of the things I talked about was how we can all bring people to Jesus in prayer even if we are not in a position to introduce people to Jesus in other days and I shared a story of a simple prayer and seeing it answered.  There are many challenges in pursuing our purpose – misunderstandings, set backs, confusion but there is always that underlying core of happiness or perhaps joy may be a better word in doing what God created me to do.

Leave a Reply

