Wondering Wednesdays – unexpected sights

moon rising

Living in densely populated urban Birmingham, the moon tends to just appear in the sky and often in a position we cannot see out of our house. This picture was taken as we sat in a summerhouse watching with awe as the moon rose over the horizon and we watched it move in the sky. It was such an unexpected sight, not something we thought to look out for or plan in our day. One of those magic moments that nurtures the soul. Every July I remember how my world got bigger the day I sat in class at school hearing that humanity had walked on the moon – I still can’t really believe it when we seem unable to build a road surface that doesn’t get full of potholes in a short space of time!

I live a little bit in my head and am not always fully aware of what is going on in the world around but holidays are times to try and live in the moment and give my attention to the complexity and diversity of the world around me. I can then be filled with wonder and replenish, re-create and rest in a different sort of rhythm.

Leave a Reply

