Wondering Wednesdays – wellbeing

DSCF2013

Yesterday I was doing some work around wellbeing and decided to blog about it today as a reminder to me of the simple steps I can take to enhance my own wellbeing. They are research based and have quite wide acceptance and were first published in a UK context. Birmingham Children’s Hospital have been using them to frame their staff wellbeing programme.

Thus five every day acts that enhance wellbeing are:
• connect to people;
• be physically active;
• give;
• keep learning;
• take notice.
The last one is what I want to focus on today as I travel to London, taking notice involves these activities:
• be curious;
• catch sight of the beautiful;
• remark on the unusual;
• notice the changing seasons;
• savour the moment;
• reflect on your experiences.

The picture is to encourage me that sometimes the long and winding road is the better one for me to take!

Reference:
Aked, J., Marks, N., Cordon, C., Thompson, S. Five ways to well-being: the evidence. London, NEF and the Foresight Commission, 2008.

Leave a Reply

