Friday photo – autumn reflection

Autumn red

I am writing this on thursday, national poetry day, so have chosen to post a poem about autumn to go with a picture taken on my walk yesterday. It is one I found a while back and have used in services and it is a follow on to what I posted on Wednesday about taking notice. I enjoy the metaphor of seasons and this one helps me to make the most of reflecting on autumn.

Autumn is slipping through summer’s branches and I am listening
I am listening to the dying flowing from autumn’s being
I am listening to the life hidden in the dying
I am listening
I am listening to the trees taking off their green garments
I am listening to the burning bush of autumn
I am listening to the falling of this season
I am listening
I am listening to the song of transformation
to the wisdom of the seasons
to the losses and the grieving
I am listening to the surrender of autumn
I am listening
I am listening to the wheel of the year turning
to the cycle of the seasons
to the call for harmony and balance
I am listening to the circle of life
I am listening
I am listening to days growing shorter
to the air turning crisp and cold
to the slow waning of the light
to the stars that shine in cold dark nights
I am listening
I am listening to happy harvest cries
to hearts overflowing with thanksgiving
to tables laden with gifts from the earth
to baskets overflowing with fruit
I am listening to a call for inner growth
to my need to let go of material possessions
to my need to reach out for invisible gifts
I am listening to a call for transformation
I am listening
I am listening to the death of old ways
I am listening to the life force turning inward
I am listening to the renewal of the earth
I am listening
I am listening to summer handing over to autumn
I am listening to the poetry of autumn
I am listening

Reference:
Poem by Macrina Wiederkehr in The Circle of Life by Joyce Rupp and Macrina Wiederkehr.

Leave a Reply

