Friday photo – saying no to plagiarism

Plagiarism

This picture made me laugh out loud when I saw it in an exhibition of similar type paintings. It appeals on a couple of levels. Firstly, I enjoy impressionist art, particularly Monet (which this picture pays homage to) and it reminds me of good times in Paris at a time when we are remembering sad times. Secondly, as someone who writes and works in an academic field plagiarism, passing off someone else’s ideas or work as your own, is close to the biggest sin you can commit!

I am looking forward to spending some time thinking about what I have discovered about shame and what I want to say about it and trying to do that in a way that’s unique to me, not a copy of what someone else has already done.

Leave a Reply

