Wondering Wednesdays – phantoms and reality

Baddesley

Virginia Woolf observed that “it is far harder to kill a phantom than reality”. I live in a world sometimes where my thoughts are closer to phantoms than realities. I am fortunate in that I have in Paul someone who can help me see reality more clearly. I sometimes get trapped into ways of thinking that are not based on reality and they can be so hard to change. Christmas can be one of those times when we have an illusion of what reality should be like, a phantom Christmas that we have perhaps put together from fragments of memory and media images… I want to enjoy celebrating the birth of Jesus and not worry too much about all the cultural trappings that come alongside of that.

Leave a Reply

