Friday photo – blossoming

Christmas cactus

Early in December we were out shopping and saw this lovely looking Christmas cactus with lots of buds and virtually no flowers. It is on the middle of our kitchen table and each morning I come down I marvel at its beauty and the complexity of the flowers. Today I was struck as to how it works for me as an image for different things in my life. I was licensed as an associate priest on Sunday – pictures were on facebook – a sense of ministry blossoming. Students returned this week and as I taught I was aware of individuals blossoming, perhaps for many different reasons. There are still a few buds left too which remind me that in my reflecting on the new year there are some things which I have not got into yet. I look at the plant and am grateful for the good things but am aware that the plant doesn’t always look like it does in this picture and there are rhythms to my life that mean that at other points in time it is the ordinary cactus that perhaps reflects more what is going on!

Leave a Reply

