Wondering Wednesdays – adding or subtracting?

InstagramCapture_aa158989-2745-40d5-9a18-cfc0129c0fcb

I was debating with friends if you give something up for Lent or take something up for Lent. As most years I am trying to make healthy eating choices it feels like I spend quite a bit of time thinking about what I can’t have and that isn’t always the place I want to be in my head. I more often than not take something up for Lent and this year have been inspired to do so through a reading Lizzie, a friend, sent me.

Rev Andrew Dotchin is doing a series of Lent readings based on the television programme Call the Midwife (Search Midwife Calling on Facebook). Helpfully the readings started on Shrove Tuesday and this was the reflection task:
Examine the Lenten devotions you have in mind to start on Ash Wednesday. Make sure that they will not ‘side-step love’ but instead be means by which you may become more loving and more in love’.

So that’s what I am going to try to do this year and I think it will be a lot more challenging for me than giving up beer such as the lovely bottle in the photo!

Leave a Reply

