Wondering Wednesdays – the life waiting

WP_20150422_024 - Copy

We enjoy watching Criminal Minds for the quotations that often start and end the programme, this is one of them:

“We must be willing to let go of the life we planned so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” Joseph Campbell

The part of my life that a young Sally may have recognized is the teaching and learning bit. I enjoyed both and started helping teach from quite a young age – for my generation you started helping in church with anyone younger than you were! I would never have imagined the ordination part of my life now as there were no role models and for most of my teenage years I wasn’t an Anglican either so definitely no dog collars!

There are hopes that have not been fulfilled and things I would never have dreamed of that have. I don’t see this quotation as giving into a fatalistic view of life but of being willing to embrace what life has for us and learning from the difficulties and making the most of the opportunities such things may enable. I believe in free will, I am not God’s robot and within the life that is waiting for me there are choices and options and places and people where I can be and do who I was created to be.

Leave a Reply

