Wondering Wednesdays – or not worrying Wednesdays

WP_20150526_034

“Do not worry about anything until it presents itself to be worried about”. It has been a mantra ever since – applied to all forms of uncertainty (Elnes 2015:39).

When there is a bit of time to slow down my mind can sometimes unhelpfully be overcome by a range of concerns, most of which I have no control over! When I read this mantra I thought how helpful it would be for me to adopt it.

Each time I walk out of our lounge to go to the kitchen I am confronted by a picture of lilies which I bought to remind me to “consider the lilies of the field” (Matthew 6.28, it is one of those practices which I have to choose to try to follow daily.

Reference
Gifts of the Dark Wood Eric Elnes Nashville Abingdon Press 2015

Leave a Reply

