Honest Christianity – relating in the struggle

banner desert

We have just returned from a paediatric chaplains network conference in Phoenix, Arizona. One of the talks I attended was on how should we talk to dying children? Lots of insightful factors were discussed but what struck me most was one of the final pair of principles: do not lie to kids or bulldoze parents.

There is not only lots of wisdom for my world of paediatric chaplaincy in this but I wonder if the principle is not transferable to other contexts. It seeks to respect both the children / young people and adults by not misleading or being too directive. These sound helpful relating principles to save us from a ‘knowing best’ mentality when seeking to support families in their everyday and exceptional struggles.

One thought on “Honest Christianity – relating in the struggle

  1. Hi Paul & Sally

    I’ve just come back from North East Nigeria where I met with 10 of the families of the Chibok girls who were abducted 2 years ago. Likewise for refugees from Syria. I prayed with 4 fathers. Speaking into despair and hopeless with integrity and biblical compassion is at the forefront of my mind all the time, but acutely so just at the moment. I’d find it helpful to chat.

Leave a Reply

