Wondering Wednesdays -cathartic music

Springsteen

The Benedictine vow of stability has long resonated with me and I will not usually move on from where I am unless there is a very clear call from God. I find it fascinating however, that some of the songs I am most drawn to listening to offer a very different way of living and I wonder if there is something cathartic in that for me. On warm summer days the track I am most likely to drive along to singing at the top of my voice (with the windows up not down!) is Born to Run, just the opening riff lifts my spirits. I am not at all like the people in the song Born to Run but I can connect with it somehow.

This blog was inspired by one line from another Springsteen song “So you’re scared and you’re thinking that maybe we ain’t that young anymore” (Thunder Road if you don’t recognize it) and while that is not how I feel most of the time there are odd moments where the words say something that is lurking in the back of my mind. The rest of the song doesn’t have the same impact. On Sunday we read Psalm 46 and what I love about reading the Psalms is that they engage with real emotions and music does that for me too but I don’t always think of it as cathartic.

What are your cathartic songs?

Leave a Reply

