Wondering Wednesdays – encountering Christ

Cross 4

I have so many books that I don’t remember all that I have.  I was preparing to preach on the Lord’s Prayer and came across a book I had not looked at for years but found some of the markings from the last time I read it.  One of those passages marked up was this statement from Thomas Merton:

True encounter with Christ liberates something in us, a power we did not know we had; a hope, a capacity for life, a resilience, an ability to bounce back, when we thought we were completely defeated, a capacity to grow and change, a power of creative transformation (from He is Risen).

This statement encapsulates much of the hope I have in Christ and sustains me during those times when life is difficult.

Leave a Reply

