Friday photo – discarded branches

chopped tree 2

This week I have been at a Child Theology Conference and encountered this tree as I wandered round the grounds. The conference stimulated me to think about what branches of theology have been chopped off in my understanding of work with children and young people.

I have valued insights from orthodox theologians, heard fresh insights on the creation narratives, understood some of the issues and pressures faced doing theology in places where Christians are persecuted and reflected on theology in the light of a child with profound disabilities. Getting to meet people with experiences very different from my own has been enriching and challenging and am pleased my theological tree hasn’t actually been chopped down so I can explore new branches.

Leave a Reply

