Friday photo – in praise of local papers

Messy church

When I turn to the back page of a paper I usually expect to see sport! However, I was really pleased to see this positive story about messy church on the back page of the Bude and Stratton Post. I always try to read a local paper when I am away somewhere, it gives a glimpse into local life. Also the feel is often less sensationalist or cynical and you see stories like this one presented at face value without any spin. I appreciate this is not true of all local papers but the ones I read when down in Cornwall are often like this.

I can still remember the thrill I felt at seeing a poem I had written in print in the Reading Chronicle – I was still at Primary School and perhaps it was one of those building blocks which has got me to the place where I write books and articles.

Leave a Reply

