Honesty Christianity – new hope of heaven

dscf2437

At church today we sang a hymn called ‘New every morning’. It has the lines in it
New thoughts of God
New hopes of Heaven

It got me thinking, what hopes of Heaven do I have, how have these changed over the years and what new hopes of Heaven do I have as I get older and see more suffering? In my work at the hospital, a place where there is no more pain, is a hope I share on a regular basis with many bereaved families. Currently for me, being in a place of justice, equality and fairness seems to fill more of my desires. This is alongside a place where people are equipped and motivated to live selflessly. I am curious of our capacity for choice, incidentally, as well as what we will do all day!

As we shared last week from the Lord’s Prayer, another line is your kingdom come on earth as it is in Heaven. This captures the ‘now, not yet’ of our hopes. I wonder what new hopes I will have or need as my body wears out and more sadness fills our world? A bit more now Lord please.

Leave a Reply

