Honest Christianity – what is it God does not have?

wp_20150526_030There was a very stimulating reflection in my daily reading book this week. Its source was what was described as Ignatius’ most famous prayer, called the Suscipe:
Take, Lord, and receive all my liberty, my memory, my understanding, and my entire will, all that I have and possess. Thou hast give all to me. To Thee, O Lord, I return it. All is Thine, dispose of it wholly according to Thy will. Give me, Thy love and Thy grace for this is sufficient for me. (Spiritual Exercises 234)

The application of this prayer was
“In it we give God the only things he doesn’t have- our freedom, our intellect, our memories , our very selves”. I am not sure this is how I would answer this question, what is it that I have that God does not? My free will, freedom if you wish, my focus, my purpose, practical things like my time, money are not always given. I could certainly do with giving to God all the crap I continually pick up and carry around!

I find it interesting to think of God being complete and perfect but not having everything ! I have previously given my life to God, but I am sure he does not have it all, all the time.

Ref
October 13th entry an Ignatian book of days.

Leave a Reply

