Friday photo – one year on

4-stone-2

A year ago this week I joined Slimming World, prompted by a consultation with my doctor. Recently I got my certificate for losing 4 stone. If anyone has asked me about my weight loss I have said I have been going to Slimming World and some people have done it quite tentatively as obviously the other main reason for people losing weight is sickness. If you know me in real life you will know that I have struggled with being overweight for most of my life. I have had periods of success where I have found a way of eating that has worked for me although not all of them have been long term sustainable.

I am not fully sure why Slimming World is working – I am less than half a stone to target now. In part I think it is the flexibility of the plan which emphasises a switch to healthy eating and doesn’t involve endless weighing and counting. It is probably also that I get to eat marmite on toast most days as part of the plan and that is a wonderful way to start a day. But perhaps most of all it is a sense of accountability as week by week I go and weigh in. The results are not always what I expect – there are some ups and downs with what I thought of as good weeks not being rewarded on the scales and times when I have had some celebrations or other events which mean I have not quite eaten on plan but have still lost.

However the biggest test is to come – what I will post this time next year – I have never sustained a significant weight loss it has always crept back on – I hope this time it will be different because I am adopting new patterns but the lure of chocolate, cakes and lost of other things still remains.

2 thoughts on “Friday photo – one year on

Leave a Reply

