Honest Christianity – a thought for the new year

DSCF2031

A thought from Kierkegaard at the beginning of another year:
What I really need is to be clear about what I am to do, not about what I must know…It is a question of understanding my destiny, of seeing what the Deity really wants me to do; the thing is to find a truth which is for me, to find the idea for which I am willing to live and die…

While in many ways I have found this, I find it helpful to regularly revisit my understanding of what God is calling me to be and do as there are often nuances, fresh glimpses, a revelation which offers a different perspective At the beginning of a new year, that is something I am taking some time to think and pray about…

Quote from Kierkegaard journal cited in Douglas Groothuis Philosophy in seven sentences IVP 2016 p123

Leave a Reply

