Honest Christianity – what is our greatest hazard?

dunedin-cath

Our local communities and our world are wonderful places but they are also full of dangers.

“The greatest hazard of all, losing one’s self, can occur very quietly in the world, as if it were nothing at all”  Soren Kierkegaard The sickness unto death

I am still reflecting on how and where this hazard might be for me. One place I am very aware of is just being too busy without thinking too much of what I am doing. And if I am thinking about it, it is more concerned about how it looks to others rather than God. The underlying value within this quote is that the human life is valued. I do not think it is contradicting Jesus’ encouragement to lose our lives to gain them (Mark 8.34-5). Jesus’ challenge and clarification comes with the ending “for me and the gospel”.

Drifting is rarely helpful, useful or purposeful. Being distracted and sidetracked can be such a waste of our unique gift, the life we have each been given. Losing it purposefully for the sake of Jesus and the coming of the kingdom seems a helpful way to look at it to me.

Leave a Reply

