Wondering Wednesdays – whiff of heaven

IMG_20160923_113814826_HDR

We watched one of our favourite films this week, Field of Dreams, in it there is a question – “Is this heaven?” The answer is “No it’s Iowa”. As part of my lent discipline I am reading a book and the author (Beth Allen Slecove) talks about thin places and she uses the phrase “whiff of heaven” which resonated deeply with me.

I have places where I get a whiff of heaven – this photograph is of one of them – a little hermit chapel on top of a hill at Rame Head in Cornwall. Think places are important to me, in them I find a shelter, a calm – even when there is a strong wind blowing like there often is at Rame. They do not have to be places of beauty but for me they are places where I have encountered God and the memory that evokes and that whiff of heaven I take away sustains me.

Leave a Reply

