Friday photo – location, location, location

church-view.jpg

I wonder why this church was built here. In the old days when you may have had one Vicar to a church how wonderful it would be to say morning prayer and then go for a stroll on the beach! However, God has not called me to the seaside so it would only be wishful thinking to imagine that but the sea does nourish and sustain me and visits to it are part of my rhythm of life. I find it amusing that God has called me to live and work so far from it! I read and reread various pieces of writing about the sea as well as surround myself with pictures of the sea – this is one I find apt:
When anxious, uneasy and bad thoughts come, I go to the sea, and the sea drowns them out with its great wide sounds, cleanses me with its noise and imposes a rhythm upon everything in me that is bewildered and confused.
– Rainer Maria Rilke

One thought on “Friday photo – location, location, location

Leave a Reply

