Honest Christianity – how to respond to suffering?

3E8E8BC600000578-4343406-A_couple_makes_a_heart_sign_with_their_hands_after_the_cordon_wa-a-8_1490304296851
Many people have been interviewed about how they understand and are dealing with the recent terrorist attracts. Most have said pray, some said comfort and support those injured, bereaved individuals, their families or support staff involved.

I was asked today by a parent of a very poorly child if I believed in God and if so why did God allow this? I said I did believe in God, just like the many Christians who have come to the aid on bridges and concert venues. And as to why, I did not know but I was sure God loved their child and them, was broken hearted and wept with them at their bedside. I also said that I would not insult their pain by giving him a trite answer in the midst of such sadness, but that I grieve with others over broken bodies seeking to live a loving life in a broken world. Sadly, I expect that by this family, many others and our nation even more questions will be asked over the coming days.

Sometimes, like today, and the last few sad weeks, I hope less is more and this more is never less.

Leave a Reply

